Frequently Asked Questions
Q. Banasuva - What Height are Ice Pillars placed by Banasuva’s Demise (Elemental Breakdown) Ability?
A. Height 4. All Markers of a single name share all of the same terrain traits.
Q. Gluttony - Can Gluttony choose a Strategy Marker for the Cost of its Maddening Drums Action?
A. No. Choosing a Strategy Marker is a way of affecting it, along with targeting, moving, removing, selecting, counting, etc. Noeffects can affect Strategy Markers unless the effect specifies it can.
Q. Does Hard to Kill reduce the damage taken for the purposes of irreducible damage?
A. No. Hard to Kill prevents a model’s Health from being reduced and does not reduce damage.
Q. Are the effects of Home on the Range cumulative?
A. Yes. For example, if a Crew contains 6 models with the Home on the Range Ability, each of those 6 models could deploy 6" past their Deployment Zone
Q. Cruel Disappointment - If a model would suffer damage from the Red Joker (Severe +1), does it still reduce the damage to Moderate?
A. Yes. The model would only suffer Moderate damage. Although the Red Joker deals an amount of damage equal to Severe +1, itcounts as dealing Severe damage for the purposes of any rules which reference damage categories.
Q. Gunfighter - When treating a
Action as having a range of
1", is the Action still treated as a (
) Action?
A. No. The entire range of the Action changes from
X" to
1".
Q. Is damage from Blade Rush treated as damage from the Charge Action?
A. No. The damage from Blade Rush is generated by the Ability as a result of taking the Action, not the Action itself.
Q. Manipulative - Is a model treated as having Activated during its own Activation for the Turn?
A. No. During Step C.3 of a model’s Activation (pg. 21) is when it is treated as “having Activated” for the Turn. Any Actions against a model with Manipulative during Steps C.1 & C.2 of its Activation still suffer the
from Manipulative.
Q. If a model gained the Stunned Condition while within
6 of three different models with Misery, does it suffer the effects of Misery three times?
A. No, it would only suffer the effects from Misery once for each time it gains the specified Condition while in range. Each model with Misery can only affect a model gaining the Condition once per Activation. As Misery is a “may” Ability, the player controlling the models with Misery chooses which model will affect the target for each Condition gained.
Q. Torment - If a model gains an Upgrade during the same Activation it was damaged by a model with Torment, will the model with Torment draw a card at the end of the Activation?
A. Yes. At the end of a model with the Torment Ability’s Activation, it checks all models it damaged during that Activation. If any models damage currently have an Upgrade, the model with Torment will draw a card
Q. Fade Away - Can a model declare the Df/Wp (
) Fade Away
Trigger while Buried, using it to reduce damage suffered by 2?
A. Yes.
Q. Challenge - Is the effect of the Challenge Action cumulative?
A. Yes. A model can be under the effect of two different Challenge Actions provided they are generated from different models.
Q. Exclusive Interview - If a model takes the Interact Action while within 2” of a friendly model with Exclusive Interview, does it still count as an enemy model for the purposes of that model’s Chasing a Story Ability, if any?
A. Yes. Exclusive Interview makes the alignment of the model both friendly and enemy for the duration of the Interact Action, thus effects that resolve exclusively for enemies and for friendlies would both resolve (though the Action is still only considered enemy-controlled). If the model drops a Marker, it is friendly to the player controlling it.
Q. Can Ophelia use the Plink! Ability multiple times by discarding multiple Upgrades with the Plink! Ability?
A. No. The Plink! Ability does not stack and can only be used once for each instance of damage a model suffers. When using the Plink! Ability, Ophelia can remove any one Attached Upgrade to reduce the damage she suffered by 1.
Q. Charles Hoffman - Is irreducible damage treated as ignoring a model’s Armor Ability for the purposes of C. Hoffman’s Temper Steel Trigger?
A. Yes. As such, a model under the effects of Charles Hoffman’s Temper Steel Trigger would still apply the effects of its Armor Ability when suffering irreducible damage.
Q. Sonnia Criid - Does Incorporeal reduce damage from Sonnia’s Scorched Soul Action?
A. Yes. The damage from Scorch the Soul is both from the Burning Condition and from an Attack Action. Any modifiers from both sources affect the Action (such as Incorporeal and Flaming Body).
Q. Killjoy - If Killjoy would be killed while it is Buried, does his Demise (Immortal Soil) Ability resolve, thus Healing Killjoy 4?
A. Yes. If Killjoy was killed by reducing his Health to 0 while Buried, he would still Heal, though the Bury is ignored.
Q. Are the Ice Pillar Markers generated by the Frozen Domain Trigger counted as an “Ice Pillar Created this way” for the purposes of the Rune-Etched Ice Action’s effect?
A. Yes. This Trigger is being used to alter the effect of the Action, thus the second Ice Pillar Marker is Created before the
effect of Rune-Etched Ice is resolved.
Q. Hannah Lovelace - Can the Adaptive Tactics Action be used to take a General Tactical Action?
A. No. General Actions (while available to be taken by every model) are not specific to a model and are not one of that model’sActions.
Q. Jack Daw - If Jack Daw suffers irreducible damage, can the Undying Ability still be used to change the damage suffered to 1?
A. Yes. Undying does not reduce damage suffered but instead changes the damage suffered to 1.
Q. If Leveticus is taking the Sanguine Evocations Action while he has 2 or less Health, can he choose to discard 2 or more cards, even though the damage from the Action would kill him?
A. Yes. While models cannot choose to suffer damage that would kill them; in the Sanguine Evocations Action, Leveticus is not choosing to suffer any damage and is instead choosing how many cards to discard.
Q. Gravedigger - Can Corpse Markers being used as Scheme Markers via Field of Corpses be used as a Corpse and Scheme Marker within 1" of each other for the Dig their Graves Scheme?
A. No, Dig Their Graves requires the Corpse and Scheme Markers to be different Markers.
Q. Wandering River Style - When using the Four Winds Punch Action, Markers are removed and then Dropped again. Do these markers change Alignment (friendly/enemy)?
A. No. The Markers Dropped by this Action are the same as those removed and do not change Alignment when removed.
Q. Gwyneth Maddox - Does the Luck Thief Ability apply before or after
and
modifiers cancel each other out?
A. Before. Modifiers to a duel (such as from Focused, Concealment, etc.) are generated during Step A of performing duels (pg. 10). Luck Thief immediately applies to any
modifier generated changing it to a
modifier. Then, the duel proceeds to Step B, at which point
and
modifiers would normally cancel each other out.
Q. Lone Swordsman - If the Lone Swordsman takes the Last Breath Action twice in an Activation targeting the same model, are the effects cumulative?
A. No. However, if The Lone Swordsman targets two different models with the Last Breath Action in the same Activation, it would resolve the effects of both actions separately.
Q. If model Z is controlling model X’s Action and that Action generates a new Action, does model Z control the new Action?
A. Yes, model Z would control the generated Action and any subsequently generated Actions.
Q. Does the Accuracy Fate modifier (pg. 24) apply to variable flips generated from an Action’s Trigger?
A. Yes. All variable flips (damage, healing, etc.) that are generated by an opposed duel have that duel’s Accuracy Fate modifier applied to them, including those duels in which a model relents as well as Resistance Triggers.
Q. If an Action does not require or ignores LoS, are sight lines for the Action still drawn to determine Cover and Concealment?
A. No. If an Action does not require LoS, sight lines aren’t drawn. However, Cover and Concealment can still be gained from other effects such as Bodyguard and Sputtering Exhaust.
Q. If a Trigger has a Cost, is that Cost required to declare the Trigger?
A. No. Costs aren’t required as a function of declaring a Trigger and are paid at the same time as declaring a Trigger. However, should a Cost not be paid, any effects from that Trigger (and those effects produced as a result of declaring the Trigger) are ignored. As such, if a model is required to declare a Trigger, they must declare the Trigger (if able) and then if it has a Cost the Cost must be paid. Otherwise, the Trigger has no effect.
Q. If a model suffers damage from a Trigger, is that damage considered to also be from the Action that generated the Trigger?
A. Yes. Effects from Triggers are additional effects of the Action. Thus, Abilities such as Incorporeal that modify the effects of certain Actions would also modify the effects of their Triggers.
Q. Are two Abilities that are prefaced by the same text (before parenthesis) the same Ability?
A. No. Abilities such as Demise (Eternal) and Demise (Dead Horse) are two separate Abilities and can both affect a model at a single time. There are some effects that specify Demise Abilities, which affect all abilities prefaced by Demise.
Q. When determining how much damage a model suffered from an effect (for purposes such as the Necrotic Decay Trigger), is damage reduction accounted for?
A. Yes. Whenever an effect is referring to the amount of damage a model suffered from an effect, it is always referring to the amount the model’s Health was lowered in Step 4 of Damage Timing (pg. 34). It is important to note a model’s Health can never be reduced below 0. As such, excess damage past 0 is not treated as damage suffered by the model.
Q. If a model is killed from an outside effect (such as End Phase Condition Damage or being Buried at the end of the Game), who is it treated as killed by?
A. No one. If a model dies from an effect not generated by a model, no model or player is treated as having killed it.
Q. If a model is killed from falling damage, who is it treated as killed by?
A. The model that generated the move which caused the killed model to fall is treated as killing the model.
Q. If an effect prevents a model from Dropping Markers when killed, would it Drop Markers as a result of Demise Abilities such as Demise (Excess Material)?
A. No.
Q. Can a model leave engagement through any movement other than the Walk Action?
A. Yes. The only effect that restricts a model from leaving an enemy model’s engagement range is the Walk Action. Other move effects (provided they can be used while engaged) may be used to freely leave an enemy model’s engagement range.
Q. Can Once per Activation effects occur outside an Activation, such as during the Start or End Phases?
A. No. Effects that are restricted to Once per Activation can only be used during a model’s Activation, i.e. Steps C.1 – C.4 of the Activation phase (pg. 21).
Q. If a model would ignore the effects of a Shockwave Action, does it still take a duel to resist the Shockwave?
A. No.
Q. If a Shockwave Action is centered on a model (from an effect such as Wong’s Uncontrollable Magic), does that model suffer the effects of the Shockwave?
A. No. In such cases, Shockwave Markers aren’t dropped and instead the Shockwave is generated as a
centered on the model, which (as per Pulses pg. 31) does not affect the object from which the
is centered.
Q. When taking a Shockwave Action, during what Step is the Shockwave Marker Dropped?
A. Step c of the Action – Targeting (pg 23). Some Triggers, such as Cataclysm, may Drop additional Shockwave Markers when resolving the Action. These markers are Dropped before resolving the effects of the Shockwave Action.
Q. If an effect of a model has the “Once per X” restriction that says the model “may” do something, can it choose not to in order to avoid using its “Once per X” limit?
A. Yes. Effects that say a model “may” do something are optional for a player and can always be forgone should a player not wish to activate the effect.
Q. If a Trigger affects a model or Marker within X", does this require Line of Sight?
A. No. LoS is not require for measuring distance between models for effects unless specified otherwise (such as an
or declaring the target of an Action).
Q. If during Step 1 of a model’s Activation (pg. 21 - resolving Start of Activation effects) if it would be affected by a new Start of Activation effect (such as by moving into another friendly model’s Healing Draughts’
) does it resolve the new effect?
A. No. Effects that resolve when a model Activates in Step 1 (such as On the Move, Life Leech, Goad Witchling, etc.) are generated at the start of Step 1 before resolving any effects. If a model would generate another effect that would normally resolve during this step, the effect is not generated.
Q. Are Bete Noire and Bête Noire the same model?
A. Yes; accent marks are ignored when determining the name of a model.
Q. When do “At the end of each Turn” effects on Strategies resolve?
A. Effects on Strategies that refer to “At the end of each Turn” always resolve during Step B of the End Phase (Pg. 21).
Q. If an effect has “not within X" and LoS of...” as a qualifying statement, are these two clauses independent or one qualifying statement?
A. One Statement. X" and LoS both need to be met for the qualifying statement of within X" and LoS to be true. As such, either (not within X" or not within LoS) can be used to claim a model is not within X" and LoS.
Q. Does damage reduction (such as from Shielded) prevent paying Costs such as “this model suffers 1 damage”?
A. No. When a model pays a Cost to suffer damage, that Cost is considered paid before resolving damage timing. After paying that Cost, the model would resolve the normal steps of damage timing (applying any damage reduction during Step 3).
Q. Can a model that “ignores other models” when moving leave an enemy model’s engagement range using the Walk Action?
A. No. Ignoring other models only allows a model to move through other models, it does not ignore other aspects of those models, such as engagement range
Q. Can a model leave an enemy model’s engagement range during the Walk Action by breaking LoS with the enemy model?
A. No. If a model is taking the Walk Action, it cannot at any point during the Action become unengaged with a model it was previously engaged with during the Action.
Q. Can a model take the Interact Action to remove all Scheme Markers in base contact if there are no Scheme Markers in base contact with it?
A. Yes. The Interact would resolve with no Markers being removed.
Q. Some Actions have listed effects that are two distinct impacts on a model, such as “Target suffers 2/3/4 damage and is Pushed up to 3" in any direction.” Are these two distinct impacts considered separate effects?
A. Yes. In the above instance, these are separate effects that resolve independently. These effects are always resolved one at a time in the order presented in the text. If a model is killed (and removed) from the first of these effects, any following effects (such as being Pushed, discarding cards, etc.) are ignored.
Q. Can a model take a Bonus (
) Action outside of an Activation?
A. No. Like all effects that are Once per Activation, Bonus (
) Actions cannot be taken outside of a model’s Activation (such as during the Start or End Phases)
Q. Does the Stat of an Action include any Fate modifiers or suits printed next to the numerical value?
A. No. The Stat of an Action only ever refers to the numerical value listed in the Stat section. If a model takes a Action and has a specific Stat for that Action, it will still include any modifiers or suits added to that Action’s duel provided by the Action.
Q. While controlled by a friendly model, can an enemy model take the Interact Action to place a friendly Scheme Marker within 4" of another friendly Scheme Marker?
A. No.
Q. If a model drawing LoS and range through another model (from an Ability such as Ice Mirror) takes the Interact Action to Drop a Scheme Marker into base contact with itself, can it drop that Marker in base contact with the model it is drawing LoS and range through?
A. No. The Marker is dropped in base contact with the model taking the Action, not the model from which LoS and range are drawn.
Q. Do all terrain pieces have a base?
A. Yes. All terrain used in Malifaux should be based in a way that it is clear to all players where a terrain piece starts and ends. If any Terrain’s base, is unclear players should determine its base before the start of the game.
Q. If a model is unaffected by Concealing Terrain, does it still gain Concealment from enemy Actions that draw LoS through that Concealing Terrain?
A. Yes. Being unaffected by Concealing Terrain does not prevent a model from gaining Concealment from enemy models drawing LoS through that terrain. Being unaffected by Concealing terrain allows the model to ignore the Concealing trait when it is drawing LoS to other models.
Q. Is the Action used to remove Destructible Terrain a specific Action?
A. Yes, although it has no name. The Action used to remove Destructible Terrain is a Tactical Action that removes a single piece of Destructible Terrain within a 1" range. This Action has no duel required and no other effects.
Q. If a model is generating an Aura of Hazardous Terrain around itself, do models within that Aura suffer the effects of the Hazardous Terrain if the model generating it moves?
A. No.
Q. If a model removes a Hazardous Terrain Marker in the same Action that it moved through the Marker, does it suffer the effects of the Terrain Marker’s Hazardous trait?
A. Yes. The effects of Hazardous Terrain apply to a model after resolving an Action regardless of it the terrain is still in play.
Q. If a terrain piece has both the Concealing and Dense Traits, does drawing LoS to the terrain grant Concealment to models partially blocked by the terrain.
A. Yes. Sight lines drawn into Dense and Concealing Terrain would still go into the terrain, though blocked, and thus would grant Concealment to the targeted model.
Q. What does “ignoring Terrain” mean?
A. A model that ignores Terrain ignores and is unaffected by all of that terrain’s traits. If the Terrain is Impassable, the model may move through (but not end in) the terrain as though it weren’t there.
Q. Corrupted Idols – can a model choose to kill itself by taking the Interact Action with a Strategy Marker?
A. No. A model can never chose to suffer damage that would reduce its Health to 0.
Q. If an effect of a model has the “Once per X” restriction that says the model “may” do something, can it choose not to in order to avoid using its “Once per X” limit?
A. Yes. Effects that say a model “may” do something are optional for a player and can always be forgone should a player not wish to activate the effect. However, other “Once per X” effects that do not say “may” must be used at the first opportunity and cannot be used again within the same limit.
Q. he word “another” is used in Malifaux in many different contexts, and while it can be determined primarily through such context, is there a more clear definition to use for non-native English speaker?
A. “Another” should always be determined based on the context of the sentence first, but in the cases where that is unclear the following method can be used. “Another” will refer to the objects other than most recent noun in the text that each fits within the restrictions of the phrase. For example, in Nekima’s Enraged by Insolence Action, “Another friendly Nephilim” will refer to “friendly Nephilim” other than the most recent noun (A friendly Nephilim killed within range), which can refer to any friendly Nephilim (including Nekima) other than the one that was killed. However, there are many instances in Actions or Triggers where no noun was used within the text prior to the “another” phrase, in which case “Another friendly (model)” will refer to models other than the model that is resolving the text, and other uses will refer to models other than the target of the current Action.
Q. Are Friendly and Enemy Scheme Markers considered different types of Markers, such as for Research Mission?
A. No. The type of Marker is Scheme, their Alignment (friendly/enemy) is the only difference.
Q. If a model is Staggered (or has Planted Roots) can it be moved by its own Actions that are controlled by another model?*
A. Yes. Actions such as Obey that allow to a model take an action aren’t directly moving it. Instead it is moving itself, but not under its own control.
Q. If a model’s Slow or Stunned Condition are ended during its Activation, by an effect such as Shrug Off, do the effects last for the rest of the Activation?
A. No. If Slow is removed, the model’s Action limit is immediately increased back to its normal value and the model may continue its Activation as normal. If Stunned is removed the Bonus Actions it has already taken that Activation no longer count towards its Action limit.
Q. What does it mean for a Push to be Interrupted?
A. A Push is interrupted if it stops short of its full distance moved for any reason. For Pushes that are “up to” a specific distance, that distance must be chosen before the model is moved and it is treated as Interrupted if it stops short of that distance chosen.
Q. If an effect allows a model to target models outside its range with a
Actions (such as from a Waldgeist’s Tangling Roots) or drawing LoS and range through another model for them (such as Zoraida’s Eyes in the Night), does this extend its engagement range?
A. No. Effects such as these that do not change the base range of the Action do not effect a model’s engagement range
Q. If a model would place an object “anywhere within range” of an Action, does it need to have LoS to that range?
A. Yes. The range of an Action includes LoS. The only exception to this is if a model is placing itself it does not need LoS.
Q. If an effect such as Scamper which resolves “after the current Action or Ability” would be generated during an Ability within an Action when will it resolve, after the Ability or after the entire Action?
A. After resolving the entire Action. The timing of “After resolving the current Action or Ability” for Scamper (and other similarly worded effects) resolves when no Action or Ability is currently resolving. If there is any instance where this would resolve and there is no currently resolving Action or Ability, it resolves immediately
Q. If a model has multiple Abilities that resolve after it is targeted (such as Terrifying (X), Protected (X), or another model’s Take the Hit Ability) can it resolve more than one?
A. Yes. When a model is targeted all effects that would resolve are generated at the same time and can be resolved in any order (as per Simultaneous Effects on Pg 34). However, some effects may change the target of the Action, in which case that new model is not targeted and as such those effects aren’t generated a second time. Additionally, abilities such as Manipulative that affect Actions that target “this model” only apply to those Actions that are still targeting that model. For example, if a model with Take the Hit changes the target of an Action to itself, it would not benefit from any of the initial target’s Abilities such as Manipulative that require the Action to target “this model”, nor could it benefit from more of its own abilities that resolve when it is targeted (such as Terrifying).
Q. If a Trigger allows a model to take an Action instead of the Action’s normal effects (such as Marcus’s Hunter’s Call Trigger or Will of Cadmus’ Aggressive Control Trigger), can that Action declare Triggers?*
A. No. If an Action is generated by a Trigger, it cannot declare Triggers (Pg 12 Actions Generated by Triggers), even those Actions generated instead of the Action’s normal effects.
Q. If a model is generating Hazardous Terrain, and that Hazardous Terrain kills a model, is the model that is generating the Hazardous terrain considered to have killed the model?
A. No. Models killed by the effects of Hazardous Terrain aren’t treated as killed by any specific model.
Q. What does “ignoring Terrain” mean?
A. A model that ignores Terrain ignores and is unaffected by all of that terrain’s traits. If the Terrain is Impassable, the model may move through (but not end in) the terrain as though it weren’t there. Ignoring terrain does not allow a model to ignore the vertical distance of that terrain, so if the model wanted to move on top of terrain, it would still need to move that vertical distance using that terrain’s Climbable Trait
Q. If a Concealing terrain piece has Ht, is its Concealing trait ignored by models of large Sz?
A. No. Concealing terrain is not affected by its own Ht as sight lines will still pass through the object as they are drawn from a topdown perspective.
Q. What does “ignoring vertical distance” mean?
A. If a model ignores vertical distance than it ignores Falling damage and while taking the Walk Action it can move vertically along Climbable Terrain without using any amount of its movement distance. This does not however allow a model to Push over terrain, as it would still need to break its movement into shorter distances.
Q. Ignored by Strategies and Schemes – If a model would become “ignored by Schemes and Strategies” such as by the effects of Dr. Grimwell’s Restraints Ability, is it considered killed by those Strategies and Schemes?
A. No. It is simply ignored. If it had a Strategy Token (such as a Lodestone Token), that token simply stays on them but has no effect. As normal, these “ignored” models cannot resolve effects of Strategies and Schemes such as Dropping Strategy Markers. However, other models still treat the model as having such a Token and can affect the token as normal, such as Interacting near an “ignored” model with a Lodestone Token to move the token off of them.
Q. Strategy Markers – Can a Strategy Marker be chosen or used by a player for Schemes that can choose/use any non-specified Marker?
A. Yes. While models can only affect Strategy Markers by those effects which are specifically called out in the Strategy, Schemes such as Research Mission and Death Beds which are effects of a player and not an individual model can choose/use them.
Q. Stealth – If a model is drawing LoS through another object to target a model with Stealth (via another Ability such as Zoraida’s Eyes in the Night), does the initial model taking the Action need to be within 6" of the target?
A. No. Only the object from which LoS is drawn needs to be within 6" of the targeted model with Stealth. This applies even if the Action itself would normally ignore range. Note: Stealth has no effect while a model is Buried.
Q. Chronicle(X) – If a model that has full Health Heals, does it trigger the Chronicle Abilities of models around it?
A. No. Chronicle Abilities only resolve when a model “would Heal” because the model already has full Health and any additional Healing is ignored (see Healing Pg 25) making the Healing entirely ignored which is not considered Healing as its Health is not increased.
Q. We Are Legion – If a model with We Are Legion has full Health and Heals, can it reduce the amount Healed and pass it to other nearby friendly Cadmus models? Can it pass this Healing to a model Healed by another We Are Legion effect this Activation?*
A. No. We Are Legion cannot be used if a model already is at full Health model as if a model has full Health any additional Healing is ignored (see Healing Pg 25). Additionally, We Are Legion cannot be used to Heal another model if that model has already been affected by We Are Legion that Activation, even if it was affected by a different model’s We Are Legion Ability as “this Ability” refers to all instances of We Are Legion across all models.
Q. Face in the Crowd - Face in the Crowd states: “If this model is within 3" of one or more models, it gains Cover”. Does this include itself?
A. No. For this specific Ability, this is a typo, and should read: “If this model is within 3" of one or more other models, it gains Cover”.
Q. Taggart Queeg – If a Guard Minion Activates within
4 of Queeg, does it Push (as per his Prison Superintendent) Ability immediately when it Activates?
A. Yes. Models affected by Queeg’s Prison Superintendent Ability push during Step 1 of their Activation (pg. 21). This effect is generated at the same time as any other effect worded “(When this model) Activates” and “Start of this model’s Activation”.
Q. Pandora – If Pandora uses her Self Loathing Action and chooses an Action that is Once per Activation, does Self Loathing itself become Once per Activation?
A. No. However, If Pandora were to choose a Once per Activation Action, she may not choose the same Action again in the same Activation.
Q. Hanged - If two Hanged are in an opposed duel and one (or both) flip or Cheat a Joker, how will their Forever Doomed Abilities resolve with each other?
A. The Active player resolves their Forever Doomed first, then the other player will resolve theirs. In such a case, if the Active player flips (or cheats) either Joker, it would be treated as the Black Joker and if the Defender would flip (or cheat) either Joker it would be treated as the Red Joker.
Q. Hopeful Prospects – If a Hopeful Prospect kills a model and is Replaced by its Welcome to the Society Ability (and is no longer Insignificant) will it resolve effects of Schemes and Strategies that resolve after killing a model?
A. No. Effects that happen after a model is killed (Step 6c of Damage Timing) are all generated at the same time (before any are resolved) so it’s Welcome to the Society effect would not have resolved by the time it generates the Strategy/Scheme effect so it is still Insignificant at that time
Q. Lamplighters – When a Lamp Marker becomes Lit, does this change its other terrain traits?
A. No. All Lamp Markers are Ht 4 and Concealing this does not change whether they are Dim or Lit. Additionally, Dim and Lit are not Terrain Traits but instead just a method of tracking the Lamplighter’s effects, so if another model would Create a Lamp Marker, that Marker would come into play Dim
Q. Will of Cadmus – Can a Cadmus model relent when targeted by an Action of a model under the effects of the Parasitic Grasp Ability?
A. No. Relenting requires both models to be friendly to each other (pg 10). Models under the effects of Parasitic Grasp do not treat enemy Cadmus models as friendly and as such neither model can relent in an opposed duel between the two.
Q. Grave Goo – If the Grave Goo is within Hazardous (Damage 1) Terrain, will its Trail of Slime Ability make the Terrain Hazardous (Damage 2 and Poison +1)?
A. No. The damage of the Hazardous is not cumulative so the terrain would just be Hazardous (Damage 1 and Poison +1). However, if it were standing in Hazardous (Poison +1) terrain, the effects would stack to Hazardous (Damage 1 and Poison +2).
Q. Malisarus Rex – Can the Malisarus Rex move itself while under the effects of its Territorial Trigger?
A. No. While under the effects of the Territorial Trigger it cannot be moved for any reason, by any model.